A woman who hopes in God

Day 10.


Today is day 10 of being home by myself. These long weeks of doing life at home without Jimmy are usually challenging to me. But this week more than usual. In addition to a challenging week at work preparing for a mission trip, Jimmy has also had a very time-consuming schedule on the road. Top that with bad phone signal, and that’s a recipe for poor communication and misunderstandings.


My continuous prayer throughout this week has been “Help me be a woman who hopes in God.” This prayer was instigated by a John Piper sermon on 1 Peter 3. “For in this way in former times the holy women also, who hoped in God, used to adorn themselves…” 1 Peter 3:5. These holy women of old, who we are to look up to and model our lives after have only one defining characteristic: they hoped in God!! John Piper went on to say that the strongest and most defining characteristic of Biblical womanhood is simply that: hope in God. Not hope in a husband, not hope in a job, or friends, or family. But hope in a sovereign and faithful God!


Now that is much easier said than done. Unfortunately, as a woman, I tend to let my emotions dictate my reality far too often. And I tend to look around at my circumstances, or in this case my calendar, and fret and worry at the very small amount of days I will see my husband this month. Though he is flying home tomorrow, I will already be in Laredo with our high schoolers for our summer mission trip. Yes, he is coming with us on this trip and will drive in later, but we stay in separate areas with the guys and girls and have full days that don’t leave much time for reconnecting.


But hope in God! I want to hope in God!


I’m not exactly sure what this means all the time, but my new sterling silver ring from our recent trip to Israel has been a help. It says, in Hebrew, the first part of Proverbs 3:5 “Trust in the Lord with all your heart.” And of course the rest is, lean not on your own understanding! This is when I remember that all I have been doing is leaning on what I understand: in this case, our calender. But that’s not the way….


Ok, so trust Him with ALL my heart, lean not on my understanding. I can move in that direction. He is a holy, sovereign, all-powerful God who loves me and cares for me and has my best interests in mind. (I know this from experience, but isn’t it all too easy to forget?) I will choose to walk in this direction. He is capable for any situation! He is able to walk me through these stressful days! He is God and He is who I put my hope in!


Today, I am just a woman who hopes in God.

4 Comments

  1. Vanessa

    I’m impressed with the depth and simplicity with which you write! And with the fact that you are able to be exposed in favor of blessing others.

  2. Thanks so much Kelly. I’m praying for you in your absence from Jimmy. Hope is a powerful tool and our Lord is a strong, loving God. Hope in Him! I’m so excited to start following your blog! I love blogging and I’m excited to see this side of your heart!

  3. Anonymous

    Hey kelly,
    You don’t know me, but I read your post and felt prompted to comment. My husband and I are youth pastors from south MS and spent the last week at the camp your husband was at. So let me say thank you for giving your husbband the freedom and liberty to minister even when it means days on end without you seeing him. He and the band truly are making a difference. Honestly the band got through to our youth in a way I haven’t seen (and many came to know jesus!!!) So your lonely days are not for nothing, thanks for your part in the ministry. Hope your trips is God-filled. ~Hannah
    And thanks for the reminder to hope in God, needed to hear that.

  4. roniallen

    awhh kelly girl hang in there.as i’m writing this from my LAP TOP..whoohoooo.. sounds like i missed my lap top as much as you miss jimmy.. jk

    anyway girl, kelley kerr and i were talking about this last night and how she is always home with out wayne in the summer…anyway, there are many of you girls out there and i used to be one of them too. i would be home 5 weeks at a time with out jesse and i know it’s hard without them. there is so much to take care of in the house and life. It makes us know how much we need them as i know i take jesse for granted when he’s around a lot.
    just keep saying, this is a certian season of life (winter) as it’s harsh and cold and bitter and we have to live through it to get to spring, and summer. and hey if it’s not really working well, maybe you can go back on the road with him and play your violin with the band, cause you are so awesome at that!
    God will let you know where you need to be <
    love you
    me

Leave a Reply

