Our Trip to Israel

I know this is long overdue, but Jimmy and I recently took a trip to Israel. But, give me some grace on the delay. My hard drive on my laptop crashed and I have been without a computer for a few weeks. But now that I have it back, it’s time to post pictures!


Sea of Galilee

sunrise over sea of galilee

This was probably my favorite spot in Israel.  For the most part, it looks the same as it would have years ago when Jesus did ministry around the Galilee area, which you can’t say for many parts of the country.  2000 years will bring a lot of change to the scenery.


Early in the morning, I was sitting by the sea flipping through the book of Matthew reading stories about Jesus on the Sea of Galilee as I was watching the sunrise.  Then I came to Matthew 13:1: “Jesus went out of his house and was sitting by the sea.”  Wow.  It gave me goosebumps to read that.  Here I am, sitting by the sea many 1000s of years later reading about how Jesus sat and looked out on this same sea, probably talking to His Father, just like I was!  Such a wonderful moment!


We had the pleasure of taking a boat ride on the Sea and Daniel, our Messianic Jewish fisherman (think about that…. how cool!) showed us how the disciples would have fished.  Daniel also lead us in worship on the sea in Hebrew and in English.  I had this thought while we were worshiping… I am on the Sea of Galilee, being lead in worship by a Messianic Jewish fisherman in Hebrew!!  You can’t get any better than that!  It was so wonderful to stare out into the water and imagine Jesus walking towards us.


This is only one of many sites we visited, so I will have to update more later.  But for now, I have to wake up in a few short hours to help lead our high school mission trip to Laredo!  So it’s off to bed for me.  But enjoy a few pictures and keep your eyes out for more!

J&K by the Sea of Galilee

Fishing on the Sea of Galilee

7 Comments

  1. How Amazing! I can’t even imagine and hope to one day experience something like that!!!

  2. CeCe Garrett

    As a former Aggie (if there is such a thing) I have known of and enjoyed your husband’s message and now music career. I am a pastor’s wife.. now living in the MIdwest. I just wanted to stop by and let you know I read your blog and I pray for you. This post was exactly what I needed to wake up to today! Thank you for sharing it!

    CeCe Garrett

  3. Jenny L

    Wow! What a cool moment! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  4. Shani

    How awesome. I had goosebumps while reading. To see what Jesus saw while in His presence. Thank You so much for sharing. 🙂

  5. Jen

    How exciting! I’ve always wanted to visit Israel, and I can’t wait. I’m looking forward to your next update, and more pictures. :o)

  6. Anonymous

    Holy COW!!! How blessed you were to find a Messianic Jewish fisherman IN Israel! I belong to a Messianic synagogue in my city and am able to participate in Hebrew worship every shabbat. It will take your breath away to hear children sing in Hebrew. Perhaps you were blessed with it there. 🙂

  7. this is soooooooooo beautiful! 🙂

Leave a Reply

