Waiting…

My current view as I write this blog

Waiting, waiting, waiting. We are waiting for Lively to come! Even though I have yet to pass my due date, Jimmy and I are anxiously hoping the arrival of our daughter is just around the corner. Part of the reason we are hoping she will come soon is so Jimmy will have more time with her before he begins traveling again. He can only take so much time off the road. So the sooner she gets here, the longer we can enjoy her before our life picks up the pace again!


Waiting on something we really want is so natural. We are always keeping our eye out for it, always looking for it, and always aware of the absence of the thing we long for. Currently, I am looking out for signs of labor and very aware of my lack of contractions. Other times in my life I have been waiting to graduate, waiting to meet the right guy, waiting to get out a hard situation, or simply waiting for some major event I was looking forward to.


Every season of waiting has now become a reminder to me of what I need to be waiting on above all else… God! The Bible has so much to say about waiting, especially in the Psalms, but it is a specific kind of waiting. It isn’t talking about waiting on just anything, but waiting in scripture is always in reference to waiting on God. There are so many promises for those who wait on Him! Here are some of my favorite verses on waiting on God:


“No one who waits upon the Lord will ever be ashamed.” Psalm 25:3
“Our soul waits for the Lord; He is our help and our shield.” Psalm 33:20
“Rest in the Lord and wait patiently for Him.” Psalm 37:7
“I waited patiently for the Lord; and He inclined to me and heard my cry.” Psalm 40:1
“My soul, wait in silence for God only, for my hope is from Him. He only is my rock and my salvation, My stronghold; I shall not be shaken.” Psalm 62:5-6


My heart first and foremost should be inclined to look for my God today, not for contractions. I should be more aware of my desire for Him than my desire to go into labor. I don’t think it is at all bad to look forward to and long for labor. It is good for me to be excited for our baby to be here!! But greater than my excitement for Lively must be my excitement for my first love, Jesus. He alone is the satisfier of my soul, my hope, my salvation, my rock and stronghold, my help and shield. If I lose sight of Him in my excitement about our daughter or anything else, my life becomes out of order. It is only when God is my first priority and greatest joy that I find the ability in Him to live my life in a way that has eternal and lasting value.


So today I am waiting… waiting on our daughter to arrive. And I am thankful that my waiting on her reminds me to keep heart set upon the Lord and wait for Him above all else. I am keeping my eyes alert for God’s movement in my life today and keeping my ears open for what He might say to me today. I look to Him and wait for Him today!

17 Comments

  1. Joanna

    Kelly, God has used your blog to speak to me so many times. It is such a blessing. I am a college student currently waiting to graduate in 2 semesters as well as (of course) waiting for Mr. Right to find me. Your experience and personal connections give me hope…not in myself or anyone else, but in God alone. Your blog reminds me to wait patiently and confidently on my Lord…just as He has given you the desires of your heart, He will give me mine. Thank you for your transparency.

  2. Diana

    I have been waiting for my job interview but this is a reminder not to wait on such that will perish away but wait on my Lord and my God..wait on Him to provide, wait on His care, His mercy, His love and His grace for me that never runs out..
    A friend told me about this blog and i am loving it already!!looking forward to more inspiration

  3. Anonymous

    Thanks for sharing this Kelly!!! God is good!!!

  4. I don’t even know you, but I love you Kelly! haha, I know that sounds funny, but you are an amazing inspiration to me. I’m always so blessed and encouraged to keep my eyes on Jesus. Thank u so much! This made me feel like going to the Father right now! πŸ™‚
    Btw I’m from Brazil too! Jimmy needs to have a concert there!
    God bless your precious family!

  5. Cristabelle

    Kelly, you are an inspiration. Thank you so much for your wise words.

  6. Kelly Needham Wonderful Words.
    You have no idea how much I needed to read these words.Β²
    You Blessed My Heart { I’m Waiting – John Waller}
    God Bless You, Jimmy and Your Little Princess ;*
    I’m From Brazil \O/
    The LORD will guide you always; he will satisfy your needs in a sun-scorched land and will strengthen your frame

  7. Breeann

    Thank you so much for the encouragement. I befriended your husband on facebook, and his status recommended we read your post, I thank God i did! May God continue to bless you, your husband, and your daughter!

  8. Rebekah

    Kelly, I am so excited for you! I know you don’t know me, but I have been keeping up with your blogs. They cause people to hunger and thirst more for God…at least that is how it is with me πŸ™‚ When I read your blogs, I realize the changes I need to make in my own life. As a busy college student, I need to hear what you have to say.

  9. marie

    Kelly, I know you don’t know me but I keep up with your blog. And although I am sure you get this all the time, I just wanted to tell you how incredibly encouraged by all that you have to say. The Lord has really gifted you with encouragement and an incredible insight into His word. Thank you for being so willing to share your heart and all that the Lord is doing in your life! I am continually blessed by your words and I am excited for the arrival of Lively! πŸ™‚ Thanks for being so faithful to share all that God is teaching you and doing in you.

  10. Thanks Kelly! You blessed my heart πŸ™‚ Can’t wait to see lil Lively too!

  11. Kandi

    Wow, you are such a blessing! Whenever I read your posts my eyes are opened to new things. You are quite the woman of God and an inspiration to me. Keep it up, God is working through you an amazing ways!

  12. Megan

    Thank you so much for putting my focus back to where it belongs! As any woman knows, it’s hard to turn off your mind.
    While you’re waiting on your baby to be born, I am waiting on when God says it’s time for me to have one of my own. Thank you for helping me to regain the proper focus! God knows when is best for everything in our lives, and we can’t go wrong when we’re focusing on Him.

  13. You have no idea how much I needed to read these words. I’m waiting right now. Waiting on God. He is the only one who has the answer to a very big life change I’m about to make.

  14. Thanks. I really need to hear this.

  15. Girl, I miss you and this is such a good reminder as I wait for whatever God has for me but this waiting really stinks! Love you!

  16. Sica

    Thank you:D Exactly what I needed to read today. I heard someone suggest once that while we wait on God’s timing, we wait on Him actively. Like a waiter waits on His guests. God, how can I serve you in my waiting? How can I praise you in my waiting? How can I please You in my waiting? It helps to focus the attention off myself (Little Miss Impatient) and onto Him again.

  17. Kelly –
    you are amazing. your love for the Lord, Jimmy and Lively. i am amazed at the relationship you have with them, especially Jesus. i love your blogs, they are encouraging, and i know they are directly from you heart. i am a huge fan of jimmy, he’s about all i listen to. i think you two are the cutest couple to ever walk this planet. thank you for your posts, for your encouragement and for being real.
    you are a huge inspiration to me.
    all for Jesus,
    jenny

Leave a Reply

