Lessons in Sleeplessness

Teething + stuffy nose + out of town = one very unhappy baby


This is the equation that plagued me last week. Our poor little girl had her first cold and boy was it rough! For about 5 nights in a row, I was up almost every hour trying to get her back to sleep because she couldn’t breathe. The frustration followed into the next day because our sick baby was now a tired, sick baby. Then top that off with constant pain from teething and the fact that we are not at home with all her regular toys and Baby Einstein DVDs…. And wow. I felt like I was just trying to make it through one hour at a time.

It’s amazing what a lack of sleep over multiple days does to you. I had checked-out emotionally and spiritually. Discouragement began to set in as I wondered if this was ever going to end. As I drove around Nashville waiting to pick Jimmy up from a writing appointment, I noticed this license plate in front of me. It read: 2COR610. An acute awareness of God’s sovereignty causes me to take these “coincidences” very personally as if God were sending me a message to read 2 Corinthians 6:10. Though it didn’t mean much to me as I quickly glanced at it in my car, I decided it was worth a more in depth look later.

Thankfully, Lively soon fell asleep in the car seat as I drove giving me a precious hour and a half of time to myself. I found a coffee shop and claimed the small nook in the back as my own to sit with this chapter of the Bible and a much needed cup of caffeine… I mean coffee. I began reading from earlier in the chapter: “But in everything commending ourselves as servants of God, in much endurance, in afflictions, in hardships, in distresses, in beatings, in imprisonments, in tumults, in labors, in sleeplessness, in hunger…” Wait a second!! “in sleeplessness” Those words were balm to my soul. The moment I read them my eyes filled with tears as God’s Word ministered to my soul. In just a split second God spoke so many things to my heart.

First, just seeing the word sleeplessness let me know that God was aware of my situation. Sometimes just to know that He sees me and knows what I am going through brings such comfort. Then, sleeplessness is listed next to imprisonments, beatings, and hunger to name a few! In this I felt like my struggle became legitimate, that it is truly difficult to function without sleep. In the same way our bodies need food to function, they also need sleep to function. Finally, the main point of this whole passage is that even in sleeplessness I am to commend myself as a servant of God. What renewed purpose this gave me to know that I am to serve God in my sleeplessness. Not just get through it, but serve God through it.

I glanced down at the little feet sticking out of the car seat next to me. This little girl was not the burden or inconvenience that she seemed to be this past week, but a blessing that I had the honor of caring for as my service to God. I am to be HIS SERVANT even in sleeplessness.

Oh the Bible! How I love it! It’s pages always bringing such refreshment and renewal to my soul. It is like a never-ending fountain, allowing me to discover new mysteries each time I open it. Wherever you are at today, find time to sit with God in His Word. You might not be a new mom dealing with sleepless nights, but there is fresh wisdom, comfort, and encouragement for every situation in the pages of this precious book.

“How sweet are Your words to my taste!
Yes, sweeter than honey to my mouth!”
Psalm 119:103

16 Comments

  1. AMEN. God is Great all the time!! life without Jesus is nothing. The Holy Bilble is our bread anD milk, we must hunger for it and I thank God for His good news!!

  2. ann

    Thanks a ton for sharing all that God is teaching you….. thanks for the effort your putting in ….a friend passed me this blog and it is a blessing to read what God taught you, also esp in preparation for the lil one i am expecting very soon 🙂

    MAy God continue to bless you and use your blog! (and hey ..your blog encourages me to restart my own 🙂 )
    Ann

  3. Sheridan Henson

    Hey girl, did you figure out a way to help Lively breathe at night? When Mikaiah would get colds we would put several saline drops in each nostril and then suction (horrible experience and takes two people, but worth it), and then I’d nurse. The nursing would force her to breath through her nose and get the air flowing. As uncomfortable as the experience was it really worked. Just thought I’d share it with you; hope there’s not another cold for a LONG time!

    1. Hey Sheridan! We tried the horrible suctioning process and it definitely helped. She is better now and sleeping through the night again! Thank goodness!

  4. That is indeed entirely true one hundred percent! May God bless you as you continue to obey and serve Him!

  5. Talita Bentley

    Hi Kelly,

    I really enjoy Jimmy’s music and for the first time thought of searching up his page on Facebook to “like”. I found it and then saw his shared post of your blog… it was a God-led thing! I’m due to have our first baby – a little girl also 🙂 – by next week and I’m afraid I’ve allowed myself to suffer in antecipation of all the hard work and sleepless nights that are to come but your text has given me perspective. Thank you for sharing. Stay blessed, Talita

    1. Katherine

      Sleepless nights are hard, don’t get me wrong, but you won’t mind as much when you look at your sweet little girl’s face! Congrats on your little one to come from one new mom to another! Your life will never be the same, but in a very good way! Children truly are such a blessing! Love my tiny little miracle! 🙂

      1. Talita Bentley

        Thanks Katherine! Esther actually came a little earlier and was born on Sunday morning – July 10th =) I can see now what you mean… I love her so much I’d do anything. Praise be to God for blessing us and trusting us with such precious little lives… All the best!

    2. Which came first, the problem or the solution? Luckily it doesn’t matter.

  6. Natalie

    Its amazing How God Soria in his own magnificent way!:)
    I also have times when I feel stressed and don’t have the strength. But with God he gives me comfort and understanding with my situation!
    Great Blog!:)

    1. Natalie

      Its amazing How God works in his own magnificent way!:)
      I also have times when I feel stressed and don’t have the strength. But with God he gives me comfort and understanding with my situation!
      Great Blog!:)

  7. Katherine

    Wow, can I just say a big THANK YOU!!! As a first time mom of a 3 week old, this was exactly what I needed! If God caused you to write this for me alone, I appreciate it! However, I’m sure it will help many! Thanks again! And thanks for following God’s leading! 🙂

  8. God is sooo Awesome That ministered to my Heart!!!!

  9. Lindsay

    Thanks for sharing that I have had that same day with my little eight month old girl… I was feeling very alone cause my husband is working long hours and I haven’t slept. Its a great reminder that God truly cares and is by my side no matter the situation/

  10. God is so AAAHHH!!! Isn’t He?! When the VERY word that we need leaps out from the most unexpected place in Scripture, its then that we know that we’re on His mind.

    Thank you for sharing that. I look forward to reading more!

    God’s abundant blessings!

    Kela

  11. What an awesome revelation! It is hard sometimes for us to see things like that being an opportunity to serve God. But it’s true whatever we do we should look at it like a chance to serve God. Good Word Sister, be blessed 🙂

Leave a Reply

