No Apologies

“So sorry I haven’t blogged in a while!” This is a common first line of a blog. I’m not exactly sure why we feel compelled to apologize for a lack of frequency in online updates, as if the general public is owed a certain number of updates per month. I have personally strived to never use this phrase in my blog and think I have succeeded. (Of course I welcome being corrected if that’s not true.) I don’t see any reason to apologize for the way I have set up my priorities in my time. I firmly believe that when you are with others, you should be fully there. Not texting or surfing the web or watching TV, but investing your whole focus in the relationship at hand. No amount of communicating through technology can replace a face to face conversation. So because of that, I have found that blogging often ends up at the bottom of my priorities. And I don’t feel any need to apologize for that. My family and friendships come before that.

But if I were going to apologize for a lack of blogging and theoretically give a reason for such a lapse in online updates, my reason would be that we are about to move to a new city. Aaaaaaand that I have a 6 month old. Aaaaaand that I have been traveling with Jimmy more lately. But that’s only if I believed in apologizing for not blogging. But since we’re on the topic, YES, we are moving! Although we will only be 4.5 hours from where we are now, this has been an extremely stressful season of life for us. Selling your home, trying to buy a new one, and timing the move with a family that travels is extremely time consuming, expensive and stressful.

We are soon to be residents of the Dallas area and living near some dear friends and the studio Jimmy recorded “Not Without Love” at. We are very excited about this season of change and looking forward to raising our family in this beautiful city surrounded by a great community of people.

As we are entering a new season, I thought it was fitting to reevaluate the purpose of this blog. I have often been tempted to apologize for a lack of blogging but decided against it for the reasons I mentioned above. And that causes me to wonder… what is the purpose of my writing? If it’s to be an accomplished blogger with a large following, then I am certainly not on the path to accomplishing that. I’ve also been tempted to write a lot about my precious baby girl and all the sweet moments that happen every day as I watch her change and grow. But I never wanted this blog to become all about Lively. Or even all about Jimmy for that matter. So why do I write? It was always my hope that anyone who would come across this blog would be encouraged and challenged to chase harder after Jesus. I feel my strongest spiritual gifts are encouragement and teaching and have desired to turn every blog into something that leaves you, the reader, longing for more of God! Hopefully… I have been accomplishing this so far. And at the same time, my desire has been to never let a desire for a large following overtake my desire for more of God myself.

Truth be told, I have often sat down to start a blog thinking… if I blog more, I will get more followers, more acclaim, more whatever. And I usually decide against it, knowing that God is who I seek to please and He is more concerned with my motives than my actions. Therefore, sometimes months go by without a new post on this site. And I am totally fine with that.

But I do desire for this website to be a blessing and encouragement to you, the reader. I am so thankful for those of you who do follow my blog and take the time to comment and write to me (even though I am not that great at responding yet… but I’m working on it). It blesses me to hear how God is using my love for encouragement and writing to impact hearts and lives. And with that, I wanted to ask you all if there is anything else you would like to see from me as far as blogging is concerned? Do you want to know more details about my life being married to a recording artist? Do you have any topic you’d like me to tackle? Any questions for me about my life, my story, or my day-to-day? Would you like to see more teaching on the Bible or more thoughts on marriage or parenting? I’d love to hear from you and I welcome any questions you have. Please respond with either a comment on this blog or send me a message through the “contact me” page.

Again, thank you for reading and thank you for your feedback! May God receive all the glory!

22 Comments

  1. Diana K.

    “I feel my strongest spiritual gifts are encouragement and teaching and have desired to turn every blog into something that leaves you, the reader, longing for more of God! Hopefully… I have been accomplishing this so far”

    I can definitely say God has used your writing to make a difference. I was really challenged by the friendship series about codependency, and I’m so glad you wrote about it, as I’ve never really looked at friendship like that before. I discovered your blog last year, and I really enjoy your posts when I get the chance to read them. I love your heart for Jesus, it’s so encouraging to find that.

    And in regards to keeping up with blog posts, finding a good blog is great, but I don’t believe Christian bloggers should put any pressure on themselves to always have something up. At the end of the day, we as individuals are all responsible for seeking after the Lord, and learning these things as we seek after him.

    Since my post is late, I hope you’re enjoying your new place cause I’m sure you’re all settled in by now, if not already moving to a new place haha.

  2. April E.

    Kelly,
    I am a fan of YOU! The fact that you are married to a wonderful, talented Christian artist is a BONUS. The way you represent life with Jesus and marriage is so encouraging and points me straight to the Father! Thank you! Lifting your family up today in prayer and thankful at every remembrance of you. Looking forward to hearing the things you have to say!

    April E.

  3. Laura

    Kelly, keep it up! Even though the posts may be more infrequent than you intentioned or want – you speak Truth everytime. You speak from your heart and from the honest place that you are. Because of that, I don’t mind how often you blog – I just keep coming back and read it down everytime you have something new. And I can appreciate not wanting to blog about your daughter or even about Jimmy – you’re your own person too, and clearly with a great head on your shoulders. Keep it up – I love your blog!

  4. Diana

    you are doing a great job because your blogs always encourage me to get on a deeper level with God and I praise Him for that! I guess as the Spirit leads so shall you speak to our hearts so I am sure when you pray before you blog God will lead you to give the right message for the right person at the right time. The name of the Lord be praised!!

  5. What are your thoughts on the Seventh day Sabbath as mentioned in the Ten Commandments?

  6. Denise

    Hey!
    I really appreciate your blog posts they are very encouraging to me. I believe that God wants me to be an encourager but I don’t know where to start? So How can I become an encourager from scripture?

  7. Anonymous

    Kelly,
    did anyone tell you that you are an amazing woman of God? I love reading your blogs – i love how you point to christ through all the experiences you have!
    One thing I would like you to write about is how to witness to non-believers, how to tell them about christ, how to show them that christ is our savior and that we need him. I have a friend that has been through a hard childhood, has bad family relationship, considers herself as an atheist. Every once in a while i would take her out someplace and just listen to her, talk to her about my life, about God. But it seems so hard. When you talk to a christian, both of you stand on the word of God as having authority over you – as something you can go by, change according to, know what is right and what is wrong. Yet when you talk to a non-believer, you don’t stand with them on a common ground. You cant really say “this is what i believe as right/wrong – because that is what the bible teaches” because the bible is not something she believes in. (I don’t know if i am making sense). She would ask many questions, that I, being born and raised in a Christian family have not tried explaining to others before yet believed a certain way because that’s the way it always was done – for example: why marry (why ‘limit’ yourself by marrying – she already had quite a few sexual partners within just the year or two that she began going to college.), What’s the purpose of life? Why do you believe in God? … It’ll be nice if you would write even about simiple stuff like that. From like experiences, the Word, etc.
    I feel like there is no purpose of living if i am not living for Christ – yet i feel like I am doing so little. I want to make a difference in this world – but how. Living for myself is not satisfying. Only when i feel like i live for a greater purpose, for a higher calling – only then it all is satisfying.
    I have many questions. I wish i can just have a greater relationship with Christ, more faith, more purpose.

  8. Christiana Stafford

    Hey Kelly! Just wanted to know that I really enjoy reading your blog. I just got married a few weeks ago (Jimmy actually sang at my wedding) and so in the last few months and especially now, I really appreciate the insight you share concerning marriage and even parenting, though I don’t think that will be an area of my life that I can relate to for a while. What you share about your life and relationship with God truly has been an encouragement and a blessing to me, so thank you for allowing the Lord to speak through you!

    Christiana

  9. Desiree

    Kelly,
    I really enjoy what you have done so far in your post. Ironically, I only come to your blog when I’m searching for words of encouragement. Congrats on the move and God bless you and your family!

  10. Anonymous

    I would love to read more about your day-to-day and parenting. I, too an a stay-at-home mom and some days find it difficult to find things to do with our child. And with the 2’s coming on, the parenting advice would be helpful as well.

  11. I really enjoy when you talk about the times you feel God’s presence, like in the sleepless post you did among the others. Having the focus be on loving Jesus, putting Him first, is very encouraging and a needed reminder when silly things can affect my day.

    I say, keep doing what you’re doing. Your day to day posts are fun to read too. I hope the move goes well and you can settle in quickly into your new home.

  12. Elizabeth

    Hello Kelly!

    First, I wanted to say, THANK YOU for being so encouraging! I rarely have an opportunity to use the internet, but when I have the time, the only blog I can say I ‘follow’ is yours. You do certainly have a gift of teaching and encouraging, and it has been helpful to me in many ways, especially knowing someone cares enough to follow hard after God and share the journey with others. It is also very intriguing to hear about life married to a recording artist, considering that is a field I hope to break into someday. I wish I could express how grateful I am to know that not only is there someone else out there that has some of the same struggles and setbacks as I do, but also (by Gods grace) overcomes them 🙂 Please know that what you do “to the Glory of God” really does help us nameless faceless readers out there!

    God Bless you and your sweet family!

    Elizabeth
    Pittsburgh, Pa

  13. Darci

    Kelly, I know that your blog has always been an encouragement to me. I’m almost 21 and in college and, like most of the other commentors, I loved reading about making God our first love. Everything around people in my generation screams that you’re not worth anything without a boyfriend or a girlfriend. Even in the Christian influences. it’s all about the process of finding someone, just in a Godly way.

    Your blog reminds me to look back at Jesus in the middle of the day when there isn’t necessarily anything wrong or anything particularly right, just that he’s Jesus and I love him.

    I’d really like to hear your take on friendships, especially male/female ones. =)

  14. Kiara

    Hello Kelly!
    First I would like to say that, in my life, your goal for this blog has been accomplished. I always leave with a deeper determination and desire to chase after God! Thank you for letting God work through you 🙂
    I, for one, am the most touched by your stories of God working in you. In whatever He teaches you, no matter the topic, it is always incredible to see how He led you through something. That’s why I like to hear your stories best: because the truth of what you learn sticks better when I see it applied in your life.
    That being said, my favorite topic of yours is falling in love with Jesus! Especially when you talked about surrendering other desires in order to seek God as our first love. I would love to hear more about being satisfied with God alone and loving Him wholeheartedly because I know that is what He desires most from me.
    Thank you for always listening to God and proclaiming His truth!
    Kiara

  15. Anonymous

    Kelly, I found your post about making God the focus instead of marriage and I now think about that every day. I would love to continue reading about your thoughts on maintaining and improving a personal relationship with God. Thanks for writing to us.

  16. Deb

    Hi Kelly my name is Deb and I’ve really enjoyed your blog–your posts have been very refreshing.

    Honestly, I love reading a blend of everything–everyday events, funny stories, your life as a wife and mom, and what you are learning in your walk with God thru it all. Because that’s largely how we all learn–in the everyday. I love the open and personable way you talk about things–thank you so much for that.

    In Christ,
    Deb

  17. Hi Kelly! I don’t think I’ve ever commented before, but I so enjoy your blog. Posts about how the Lord is working/teaching are especially encouraging, and as a recent first-time mommy I appreciate parenting posts as well. (I think I read your “sleeplessness” post while up in the middle of the night nursing our two-week old – timely!) Thanks so much for sharing your insight; it means more than you know!

  18. Erica

    How did you become a Christian and when did you really start a relationship with God? For me those were different events

  19. Ana Brooks

    I would love to see more written about what God is teaching you and what he’s doing in your life; those blogs have been especially encouraging and really timely.

    1. mdoe

      I second this.

  20. Kelly, first off I just want to thank you. Thank you for your sweet spirit and refreshing (and comforting) honesty in sharing all that you have on this blog. You have truly been accomplishing your goal: I *always* come away from reading your blog posts inspired to seek harder after Jesus, and ministered to in some way. And your humility has been greatly encouraging to me, in giving me a real-life example of truly giving all the glory to God. I have often thanked Him for the blessing of you, though I’m not the best at commenting. So thank you, and I thank Jesus for you. 🙂

    As far as your question, I would love to read more day-to-day, thoughts on the Bible, marriage, parenting, and just growing in a relationship with God. My dad left our family a few years ago when I was 16 (I’m now 19 and going to college and working while living with my mom and younger siblings), so one area I’ve not had the greatest example in is marriage. I’m currently in a godly relationship (one I was reluctant to enter just because of my background, but God spoke clearly, so I know this is where I’m supposed to be), and have *greatly* appreciated your posts on continuing to seek Jesus while IN a relationship. This is my heart’s desire, but not having had that example in my own home, it makes it rather difficult at times in trying to prepare my heart for marriage, and making sure that I keep Christ above that, not making an idol of this dream/gift. So all that to say, you’ve been like an older sister to me in the lessons you’ve taught and encouragement you’ve given through this blog. I would love to read anymore you have to say on the subjects of marriage & parenting (since I know that’s what God is preparing me for) and seeking God first through it all. The personal testimonies you’ve given have been some of the greatest encouragements.

    I’m so sorry this was such a long comment! Praying for you and your husband and sweet Lively (don’t be afraid to share a wee bit more about your little one 🙂 ).
    Love,
    A Sister in Christ, Kimmy

  21. Welcome back! I have the same thoughts on my infrequent blogging but at the end of the day, I would rather blog about the important things than write frequently about things that I really don’t care about. Or don’t really make a difference.

    The posts I’ve enjoyed reading the most are stories about life married to a recording artist and the things God is teaching you. With the latter I mostly recall your post about Lively and Norway and how incredibly unselfish you have to be as a mom and what God is teaching you through that. Such an encouragement!

Leave a Reply

