The Influence of a Woman

Before I get into my topic for today, I wanted to give you a brief update on my blog.  Because I think it is incredibly important to be purposeful in everything you do, I recently wrote about the purpose of my writing and this blog.  You can check it out here: “No Apologies.”  In that post I had asked for any topic suggestions or questions that you had for me.  After reading through the responses I received, I’ve decided to write about some of those things in the coming weeks.  Here are some posts to be on the look out for:

  • Becoming a Jesus-Follower: My testimony
  • A Day in the Life: My life being married to a recording artist
  • The Sabbath: The forgotten command
  • Sharing Your Faith: How to live a lifestyle of evangelism
  • How to Encourage Others Effectively
  • Dating & Marriage: The purpose of romance in the believer’s life
For today however, I wanted to write about the powerful influence of a woman.  I am currently reading through 2 Chronicles and am greatly enjoying it!  I have learned so much through studying the history of the Israelite people in Kings and Chronicles and strongly encourage you to read straight through these books if you never have. (This is actually my first time to read straight through them!)

 

Chapter 21 describes the reign of King Jehoram, the son of Jehoshaphat, grandson of Asa.  Jehoshaphat, though not perfect in his reign, was known for how he sought after the Lord.  He was humble and trusted in God in moments of adversity.  And Asa, his grandfather was also a man who sought after the Lord and trusted God in hard times.  With such a rich spiritual heritage, I expected Jehoram to follow in their footsteps.  But to my surprise, this chapter starts out with Jehoram killing all his brothers as soon as he became king.  It doesn’t even give a reason why he did this.  He also led the people of Judah astray by enticing them to worship other gods (v. 11).  So what happened to Jehoram?  How did a guy with such a great start to life turn out so bad?

Well let me introduce you to his wife.  Her name is Athaliah and she is known by her parents.  This girl is the daughter of Ahab and Jezebel.  Ahab was king of Israel and was more wicked than every king before him!  This is one bad dude.  He was also married to Jezebel, who was a very deceitful, conniving, evil woman herself.  1 Kings 18:19 mentions how all the prophets of Baal and the Asherah (the false gods and idols of the day) ate at Jezebel’s table.  To sum up this couple’s life: “Surely there was no one like Ahab who sold himself to do evil in the sight of the Lord, because Jezebel his wife incited him.” (1 Kings 21:25)  Can you imagine growing up in this home?

 

It is Ahab & Jezebel’s daughter who marries Jehoram and clearly she had a significant influence on him.  “Jehoram walked in the way of the kings of Israel, just as the house of Ahab did (for Ahab’s daughter was his wife), and he did evil in the sight of the Lord.”  This same story is written in 2 Kings 8:18: “Jehoram walked in the way of the kings of Israel, just as the house of Ahab had done, for the daughter of Ahab became his wife; and he did evil in the sight of the Lord.”  This one woman had more influence on her husband than his father and grandfather.

 

In the very next chapter of 2 Chronicles we see her continue to have an affect on her family.  Once her husband, King Jehoram dies, her son Ahaziah becomes king.  And what does it say of Ahaziah? “He also walked in the ways of the house of Ahab, for his mother was his counselor to do wickedly.  He did evil in the sight of the Lord like the house of Ahab.” (22:3-4)

 

As I read these chapters this morning, I couldn’t help but notice the incredibly powerful impact this one woman had on her husband and son.  Judah went from having good kings that trusted in the Lord and sought Him with all their heart to wicked kings that did evil in His sight so quickly.  And it is all because of the influence of one woman.

 

This has lead me to ask this question: what kind of influence am I having on my family?  I might not be causing the same kind of great evil in my family as Athaliah caused hers, but I still need to evaluate how I am…….  Do I criticize my husband and cause him to shrink into passivity?  Or do I encourage him and strengthen him to step up into his God-given leadership positions with confidence?  Do I have an complaining and woe-is-me attitude that makes my home a sorrowful place to be?  Or do I have a grateful and cheerful heart that brings joy to our home?  Do I treat my daughter like she is an inconvenience to my day and a burden?  Or like she is a blessing and a wonderful gift to be celebrated and enjoyed?

 

I might not be seeking to cause evil and wickedness in my family, but I do have an influence.  And I believe my influence can be just as powerful and long lasting in my family as Athaliah’s was in hers.  And I pray that God will continue to grow me into a woman whose family is blessed and better off because of her.

12 Comments

  1. Carrissa

    Ahh! Convicted! Those questions you posted at the end about criticizing the husband and treating the children like inconveniences… I appreciate and love my husband so much and adore my son but I know I can be that person at times!

    Something I would absolutely love to see from you is what your day looks like, the everyday routine. I’m hoping your upcoming “A Day in the Life” posts will cover this. I struggle to manage my time carefully and am not sure what a “godly” day would look like. I have a feeling you have a pretty good grip on it though because of your God-focus. I read the Bible, pray a bit, play with and enjoy my 11 month old son (I think our kids were born around the same time), do some cleaning, some cooking, among other “good” things but not consistently or with purpose as I’d like. God uses you to speak to me and I can’t wait to hear what you have to say!

    God bless you and your family!

  2. Callie

    Kelly, I read your blogs often and each one is so true! I am a teenager, but I still love reading what you post and I think God has used you (and your husband, too) to help me think more closely about my relationship with Christ. Thank you for writing these blogs!

  3. Anonymous

    What a powerful message Kelly! Thank you so much for sharing. You surely are a powerful influence for Christ through your blog. May He continue to bless your work & lift up the light of His continence upon you & your family. – Becky

  4. Anonymous

    Thank you Kelly! Looking forward to the posts coming!! So many things on that list I’ve been thinking about 🙂

  5. Anonymous

    Absolutely beautiful…thank you

  6. Amen!!!!! this is a powerful message! yea Lord, I hear you! thank you Yahweh!

  7. crystal

    …I should have said…How do we get our “chores” done and NOT treat our children as a burden when they need us when we are in the midst of cleaning, laundry, cooking etc.?

  8. crystal

    Such a good reminder that we do have an influence on our family. But my questions are: 1)how do we not have a woe-is-me attitude at times? 2)How do we get our “chores” done if our child is constantly wanting our attention? I do not ever intentionally treat either my hubby or daughter as a burden, but this convicted me. I do….I think we all do at one time or another. How do not treat our children not as a burden?

  9. Gloria

    Kelly,

    How refreshing it is to hear this, and from a young wife & mother. You bring encouragement to all the other young ladies like myself to live a righteous life in the Lord.Thank you! I know that by seeking God, he will give wisdom beyond our years for all aspects of life, and your words are very much evident of a woman after God’s own heart. I appreciate these blogs. =)

    Thanks!

  10. Christy McNabb

    There is so much valuable information and many lessons to be learned in this post! With this information, you could make a ten week Bible study that, I truly believe, would inspire and motivate many woman! Move over Beth Moore!

  11. Anonymous

    I find this very fascinating. Thank you for sharing. 🙂

  12. That’s a great word Sister!! A good way to look at the women in the Bible for help in our own lives. If they were good, for us to strive to be like them, or if they were bad, to strive not to be like them. :0)

Leave a Reply

